This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.5 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.3
Property location
8.5
Facilities
8.0
Staff
8.7
Value
8.7
Reviews
    Cecilia
    gb
    5.0
    14 January 2018
    Señora Tita is very ‘caring’ but too much in my opinion It took at least 45 mins to tell us the basics of Ancud Uncomfortable mattress
    Close to the bus terminal Clean hostel
    Aleksandra
    pl
    10
    20 December 2017
    Hostal Austral is a very cosy and friendly place. The owners make you feel at home right away.
    Benedetta.Balma
    gb
    9.6
    11 November 2017
    Lovely stay! Super clean!
    A bit of a walk to the city centre
    Lovely to have a cheap single room after a long time travelling. Great breakfast, with the owners. Very homely feeling. They gave me a map with an itinerary that covered all to see in Ancud. Really lovely stay.
    Lesley
    au
    6.7
    16 April 2017
    Comfortable hostel close to bus terminal
    Close to the bus terminal but a fair walk to the centre. Minibuses pass close to the hostel, but not frequent on weekend or at night. Breakfast of bread and instant coffee, explained as 'typical'. An hour's explanation of the rules, which are all quite standard.
    Clean, light, airy and up to date, with quite a good view. Host provided a walking map, that was interesting and covered the highlights of the city well.
    Mark
    au
    9.2
    28 February 2017
    Mirta and Pedro did absolutely everything to make our stay in Ancud even better. They were very warm and helpful.
    Maaike
    nl
    4.6
    24 January 2017
    Controlling lady of the house and poor bed
    The lady of the house was very controlling. We felt like we were 2 children who were staying at there grandparents house where nothing was allowed. There was even a list in the room of everything that was not allowed. And we had to show up for breakfast at exactly 9:25, not kidding! I guess she tried to be nice, but we were glad to be leaving after 2 nights. Furthermore the bed was really not good, very soft and we rolled to the middle. Breakfast was ok, but you were asigned a seat and had to ask for another piece of bread.
    Good shower.
    areti
    gr
    6.2
    20 November 2016
    It was ok, with a vey good location, but with very poor breakfast
    Patricia
    ca
    10
    16 November 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Momo
    kh
    7.5
    23 April 2016
    far from the centre of Ancud, small breakfast, sometimes owners are a little bit too caring, no towels and soap, no communal kitchen
    nice wooden house, very very clean, hot shower, owners are very welcoming and want to talk a lot - especially Senora Tita, explain everything about Ancud and Chiloé and gives you a lot of advice about the local restaurants and public buses, owners even invited us for a cup of tea and cake, there is breakfast even if it's written on booking that there is not, very close to the bus stop, electric heating in the room (you have to ask for it)
    esty
    il
    9.2
    30 March 2016
    Great location and attention
    Noisy from traffic At holiday breakfast at 10 am!! No towels, No soaps
    Great location Big room Helpful owner
    Haejeong
    gb
    9.2
    28 March 2016
    Kind host, clean & cozy single room
    I stayed at this hostel during santa semana. Restaurants were closed. And host didn't serve breakfast until bakery opened after 10AM. So I had breakfast just once during 3 day stay.
    Kind host, easy approach from municipal bus terminal (not cruz del sur), quite simple breakfast(1 bread & tea). Host gave me many useful informations about Ancud and tour.
    erik
    nl
    8.8
    1 March 2016
    Feels like home
    It wasn't a problem for me, but the owner lies to talk a lot so you will have to spenderen som time with her.
    Owners are very helpful and speak English if neccesary.
    Doris
    de
    10
    25 February 2016
    This Hostel is located 5 minutes from the Bus Station and a 15 minutes Walk ti the center. The owners are very friendly and helpful... They organized a place in a kuranto restaurant for me, which was amazingly good, They gave me good tips how to get around in chiloe,and the Room were very cozy and clean!
    Timoty
    ar
    8.3
    23 February 2016
    Very pleasant stay, close to the Municipal bus station.
    No coffe..
    Very clean, and very knowledgable staff you can ask anything. Very near the busstation Municipal and Pinto street.
    Argo
    hk
    8.3
    22 February 2016
    A bit far from the town centre
    Very helpful owner, explain everything of the city to you,
    Jennifer
    us
    6.7
    20 February 2016
    The neighborhood is very noisy as it is on a main road with bus depot close by and lots of street traffic. Additionally, barking dogs did not let up all night...even with earplugs, not a good night's sleep.
    Friendly staff. Easy parking.
    be
    9.2
    17 February 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Laura
    fr
    6.2
    26 January 2016
    I would have stayed in Castro...
    Owners a bit too overwhelming Breakfast too simple (tea and bread) No kitchen
    Very close to the local bus terminal Clean
Close