Reviews

8.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
8.7
Property location
8.9
Facilities
8.5
Staff
8.9
Value
8.9

Reviews

    de

    Review score

    8.3
    21 February 2018

    Amazing owners

    The owners are amazing and very, very friendly. They gave us a lot of information about the place and what to do and really took care of everything.
    Mimi
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    1 February 2018
    as a bagpacker no kitchen is a big problem because Chilean restaurants are quite expensive
    Very clean hostel!
    Sonia
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    18 January 2018

    Very comfortable - I always looked forward to returning after a day’s excursion.

    Wifi occasionally spotty.
    A bright, airy, spacious room overlooking the hills. A delightful couple - Mitra for breakfast very thoughtfully always managed to seat me with someone English speaking. Good breakfast Chilean style. Meticulously clean. Comfortable bed. No bathroom line-ups. TV great. Ideal location if you want to explore other parts of the island as the long distance buses all stop at the Terminal Municipal, a five minute walk away (except Cruz del Sur, but which you can flag down or request to stop as it goes by) and you can get on the local buses down the street and off at the back of the terminal.
    Cecilia
    gb

    Review score

    5.0
    14 January 2018
    Señora Tita is very ‘caring’ but too much in my opinion It took at least 45 mins to tell us the basics of Ancud Uncomfortable mattress
    Close to the bus terminal Clean hostel
    Aleksandra
    pl

    Review score

    10
    20 December 2017

    Hostal Austral is a very cosy and friendly place. The owners make you feel at home right away.

    Benedetta.Balma
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    11 November 2017

    Lovely stay! Super clean!

    A bit of a walk to the city centre
    Lovely to have a cheap single room after a long time travelling. Great breakfast, with the owners. Very homely feeling. They gave me a map with an itinerary that covered all to see in Ancud. Really lovely stay.
    Lesley
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    16 April 2017

    Comfortable hostel close to bus terminal

    Close to the bus terminal but a fair walk to the centre. Minibuses pass close to the hostel, but not frequent on weekend or at night. Breakfast of bread and instant coffee, explained as 'typical'. An hour's explanation of the rules, which are all quite standard.
    Clean, light, airy and up to date, with quite a good view. Host provided a walking map, that was interesting and covered the highlights of the city well.
    Mark
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    28 February 2017
    Mirta and Pedro did absolutely everything to make our stay in Ancud even better. They were very warm and helpful.
    Maaike
    nl

    Review score

    4.6
    24 January 2017

    Controlling lady of the house and poor bed

    The lady of the house was very controlling. We felt like we were 2 children who were staying at there grandparents house where nothing was allowed. There was even a list in the room of everything that was not allowed. And we had to show up for breakfast at exactly 9:25, not kidding! I guess she tried to be nice, but we were glad to be leaving after 2 nights. Furthermore the bed was really not good, very soft and we rolled to the middle. Breakfast was ok, but you were asigned a seat and had to ask for another piece of bread.
    Good shower.
    areti
    gr

    Review score

    6.2
    20 November 2016
    It was ok, with a vey good location, but with very poor breakfast
    Patricia
    ca

    Review score

    10
    16 November 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Momo
    kh

    Review score

    7.5
    23 April 2016
    far from the centre of Ancud, small breakfast, sometimes owners are a little bit too caring, no towels and soap, no communal kitchen
    nice wooden house, very very clean, hot shower, owners are very welcoming and want to talk a lot - especially Senora Tita, explain everything about Ancud and Chiloé and gives you a lot of advice about the local restaurants and public buses, owners even invited us for a cup of tea and cake, there is breakfast even if it's written on booking that there is not, very close to the bus stop, electric heating in the room (you have to ask for it)